TTC this!

TTC

I, like many of you out there, am a Toronto commuter. I take the TTC every day to and from school in a 45 minute each way ride. Some people think I’m crazy, but there are tons of people out there who have it much harder than I do.
As much as I enjoy my ride on a day to day basis, sometimes I want to scream. Sure there are perks, but then there are those people who make me so angry. So, I would like to share with everyone some TTC etiquette that I think everyone should follow.

1. Let people off before getting on
Now, I think this is an obvious one, but often when the subway doors open someone is standing right there desperate to get on. Just move out of the way!!! I need to get off!!!

2. Do NOT sit in an aisle seat when the window seat is open
I don’t want to climb over you just to sit down. Just move over, I’ll politely get up when you have to get off.

3. Get up when you see an elderly, pregnant or injured person get on
Again, sounds obvious, but the other day I actually watched two women argue about who was going to allow the extremely elderly person sit down. And to my surprise, the very pregnant woman go up! The other women complained of back problems. Like come on!

4. Your bag does not deserve a seat of its own

5. Be conscious of the volume of your music
I may be trying to read, I don’t want to hear what you are listening to.

6. Don’t litter. Seriously
The other day I watched a man eat sunflower seeds on the subway, and he spit the shells on the ground. Ech.

7. Try not to be too loud or annoying
This is mostly for a younger audience, but I’ve probably had a long day and I just want to relax. Please be considerate of others around you.

8. Stand on the right, pass on the left
I’ll admit, I am an escalator walker. I have places to go and generally just want to get there. If you want to enjoy the ride, stand on the left, and get out of my way.

So, that is all I can think of right now. Please feel free to share any of your TTC pet peeves as this is your chance to let it all out. We are communicators, maybe this is the time for social change…

About ramsayramsay

I am a 24 year old public relations student at Centennial College and have a degree from Brock University in communications. I love to read, travel and spend time with friends and family. I enjoy writing am excited to share my thoughts on PR, social media and everyday life.

Posted on January 28, 2008, in other and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Megan!
    Without having read your blog from yesterday, I actually did a spin-off of your #6 earlier. I guess it’s the commuter in us. I agree with the rest of your list, but by far the garbage ruins my day. It ruins my experience on the subway. I’ve actually provided some viable options for ads (in support of those currently out there) to help people use garbage cans, or at least keep their garbage until they get off the train instead of putting it under the seat – and then having it roll around the entire car. I suppose I’m very impassioned about the littering. It’s ruining very mode that fuels this city, and it sure doesn’t do anything for Toronto’s image!

    I’m glad that someone else posted about it 🙂

  2. Megan,

    You are a beacon of consideration amongst commuters. If only everyone followed your eight little rules. I align with you most on rules numbers two and four because they are among my biggest pet peeves. I become especially annoyed when people are sitting in the aisle seat with their bags in the window seat. It’s a double whammy.

    I have no problem with sitting beside strangers on the bus (as long as they have good hygiene), but I prefer the space and comfort of a solitary seat. However, I never get the solitary seat, because I follow basic TTC etiquette. If everybody followed your rules we could all share single seat opportunities.

    Now, I pose a question relating to litter. I am disappointed in the morning when I am heading into the subway and there are no Metros left. So, I am glad when I find a discarded copy on a seat inside the train. After reading the discarded metro, I leave it on the seat for the next person. Now the question…is this considerate? Because, I’m worried that people think I’m littering, when in actuality that is not my intention.

  3. These pretty much hit the worst of all the TTC behaviours I’ve ever seen – I agree with you on every single point. I also love it when people decide they’re going to shuffle off of, or onto, the subway, necessitating me trying to squeeze around them or darting in at the last minute to avoid getting left on the wrong side of the doors. People just need to be more aware of the world around them – and maybe we’re more sensitive to these issues than some other people, seeing as we’ve learned that the way you present yourself, and the way others perceive you, can be very important as a PR practitioner.

    And Tara, I don’t think that’s littering – I often pick up a paper that someone else has left behind, and you’re not just tossing it carelessly on the ground. It’s not like waiting until the bus doors open and throwing your popsicle stick on the ground outside… I saw this once and my jaw nearly hit the floor in shock.

  4. I haven’t been on the Red Rocket in a while, but I do remember some pet peeves I had when I was in high school.
    The two that I equally hate:
    – people who blare music on the bus at 7 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. (it’s annoying and irritating any time of the day, but especially before going to school and after a LONG day at school)

    – public displays of affection – sucking your boy/girl friend’s face on the bus is not cute or romantic

  5. I totally agree Maricel, That should be my 9th annoyance. Keep it in the bedroom!
    As for the discarded Metro’s, I often read them if there are none left at my stop. To be honest though, I grab one out of the recycling since there stand is so far away. I love it when I find a Globe or Star, its like a bonus.

  6. Last summer I was sitting beside a lady on the streetcar and she decided the time was right to clip her nails. As it goes, finger nail clippings began to rain down on everyone within a few feet of the my poorly mannered new friend. Unfotunately for her, she wasn’t immune from the fingernail assualt either.

    As she brushed the debris from her lap and shirt for the second time, I decided that I needed to strike up a conversation.

    Me: “You don’t actually think that’s appropriate do you?”

    Finger Nail Assassin: blank stare

    She wasn’t even crazy, and we were on the Roncesvalles.

  7. WELL Put There! I agree with ALL of the ABOVE you mentioned. I’ll add a few I have observed over the years: nail clipping, people with HEAVY perfume or BODY ODOR, spitting throad-clearing mucus on the floor of the train – YECH!, LOUD teenagers blocking & talking at the subway door, slobs eating & leaving their garbage, people sneaking in to get a free ride at open subway stations. And then there are those who hop on the bus without any money so they go around asking everybody for a “free” ttc fare and some gullable soul actually donates to the disorganized rider. Thanks for bringing this topic up. I can absolutely relate to everybody’s TTC petpeeves or should i say To Take Care petpeeves. Have a pleasant journey;)

Leave a Reply

