Real life PR?

I am so excited to be a part of the Easter Seals Conn Smythe Sports Celebrities Dinner & Auction this Wednesday evening. As a part of our program at Centennial we are required to do free PR work, and I am fortunate to work with the Easter Seals. I have been involved with events at school such as Talk is Cheap, but nothing as major as something like this. I will be working with the communications team signing in media, which I think is totally exciting. In class we did a mock news conference where we had fake media sign-in sheets, but this is something else.

The event (in its 57th year) is Canada’s longest running sports celebrities’ dinner. More then 1000 will attend in support of Ontario’s kids with physical disabilities.

I am slightly intimidated by the whole process to be quite honest. Not just participating in the event, but doing real PR work. Its one thing to hand in a news release to an instructor, but I would be writing pieces that could potentially turn up in the news!

So I hope that over the next few months I will be able to share my experiences with you and that you will do the same.

Internships are also fast approaching…anyone else incredibly nervous about interviews???

About ramsayramsay

I am a 24 year old public relations student at Centennial College and have a degree from Brock University in communications. I love to read, travel and spend time with friends and family. I enjoy writing am excited to share my thoughts on PR, social media and everyday life.

Posted on February 3, 2008, in careers, public relations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That sounds like a great experience, I look forward to hearing about how it goes!

    I’m a little anxious about interviews, but looking forward to getting through them.

  2. That is very Cool!. Please keep us posted.

  3. Lisa Caroline Leung

    Let us know how the run goes! The Easter Seals is a great foundation, good for you for securing such a solid client project! Are you hoping to stay on with them for your internship? or go into another sector?

Leave a Reply

