I am not a computer geek. But sometimes I wish I was.

3452g.jpg

I never thought that getting into PR I would learn so much about computers. I know more now then most of my computer savvy friends, and have even impressed my Dad, who knows everything about computers.

The truth is, I really don’t like computers all that much. I’m really in to all this new social media stuff, but only because I feel it will enhance my career opportunities. I really enjoying learning and experiencing all these technologies, but I am having a hard time getting involved and staying involved.

Many of my friends from school would consider themselves computers geeks. And to be honest, I am totally jealous. They not only have learned all the new media tools, but have embraced social media as a part of their lives. I felt like if they are doing something then I have to follow and join the newest online network. I added twitter and joined seesmic and oovoo, but I just can’t get involved.

For a long time I thought I was falling behind by not keeping up with the trends enough to be considered computer literate. After a quick chat with social media guru Maggie Fox, from the Social Media Group, I was reassured that I don’t need to be engaging in every new social media tool that presents itself, but that just being aware of what they are and how I can use them is really a big advantage.

I’ve been fighting with myself every night to sit in front of my computer to learn more and take part in online conversations, but really, it just isn’t for me, and that’s OK. I can stay engaged and follow twitter feeds and read blogs, but I don’t need to force myself to take part in something that doesn’t interest me all that much.

So, thank you to Maggie for making me feel better about not being the computer genius I want to be. And so maybe my blog posts won’t be introducing the newest media tool and how it can be used in PR. And maybe I won’t have anything to talk about with my friends who spend all night on seesmic. But really, the computer thing, not for everyone.

About ramsayramsay

I am a 24 year old public relations student at Centennial College and have a degree from Brock University in communications. I love to read, travel and spend time with friends and family. I enjoy writing am excited to share my thoughts on PR, social media and everyday life.

Posted on February 24, 2008, in computers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Megan, I feel the same way, yet you are definitely more blog-savvy than I am. I am on the computer here, blogging about my vow to try and blog as much as I can, and comment on others’ blogs, but I don’t know where to start. Like we said earlier, maybe it is the fear of getting a rude comment or sounding dumb on some PR professional’s blog that is the reason why I won’t blog on someone other than a classmate’s blog. But don’t you worry, you are a lot more into this than I am and you’re doing a great job 🙂

  2. Glad to be of help 😉

  3. You don’t need to embrace it as a lifestyle, but you need to know what it’s about and what it’s good for. I think a PR professional in this age refusing to learn about social media is like a carpenter refusing to use power tools.

Leave a Reply

