The pressure is on!

Wow, less than one month until school is over and my career in PR begins. I am as excited as I am freaked out. I am very confident in my ability and I feel that PR is a perfect fit for me. It is rare that someone finds their true calling, but for me, I think this is it. That being said, I’m as nervous as can be about starting my internship.

It’s not that I don’t think I can do it, it’s that I don’t know what to expect. I think everyone feels that way entering into a new job though. I feel the challenges that await me will test my every being. And I am ready to embrace that challenge, nerves in tack.

It’s a scary world out there. Big corporate players, clients, cubicals, suits and billable hours. For someone who has worked at family restaurants her whole life, its a lot to take in.

I am also excited to have to go buy a complete new wardrobe. My only dress pants cost $15 from Sirens (a cheapy-type store, for those who do not know). I even had to buy a pair of dress shoes to wear to the interview.

So if you see a young girl strolling around Young and Bloor struggling in her heels, it’s probably me.

About ramsayramsay

I am a 24 year old public relations student at Centennial College and have a degree from Brock University in communications. I love to read, travel and spend time with friends and family. I enjoy writing am excited to share my thoughts on PR, social media and everyday life.

Posted on March 6, 2008, in careers, internships. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I found your site on google blog search and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Just added your RSS feed to my feed reader. Look forward to reading more from you.

    – Randy Nichols.

  2. Congrats on your internship! Get in there, work hard and show them what Megatron is made of! 🙂

    I’m excited to be entering the “world of big corporate players.” It’s only scary if we have “imposter syndrom” and don’t believe that we can be a part of that world.

Leave a Reply

