Take my challenge. I dare you.

For those of you who actually remember the early 80’s, I want to take you back to a time when people sent personalized mail through the post, had conversations in person and had to go to a library to get information. Back to a time before computers and before the internet.

I’m only 24 I remember (vaguely) what it was like.

This past weekend I went to my friend’s cottage in Grand Bend. Lots of people, beer and bbq. Good times. But as fun and crazy as the weekend was, it was very peaceful to be without some of the basic amenities that I have come to rely on so much in my busy life: No internet, no cable, no cell phone. Sign.

Sounds ludacris, I know, but imagine the freedom one can feel by not being controlled by having to refresh your browser every 30 seconds waiting for that ever-important e-mail.

Martin Waxman from Palette PR recently blogged about his attempt to go 24 hours without the internet. Like myself, he found that the temptation was hard to resist as the internet has become a second nature to many of us. Then when he finally reconnected, he discovered that there was nothing “earth-shattering” awaiting him. My reconnection resulted in a ton of e-mails and a few missed calls, but nothing that was important enough to interrupt my somewhat peaceful weekend.

The internet is still a very new phenomena and most of us have lived long enough to watch the technology grow. Sometimes it bothers me how much we rely on it, especially in situations when kids are engaging so much of their time in online activities. I understand the benefits of the internet heavily outweigh the cons, but I fear for the time when the internet begins to consume society, even more than it already does.

So I am challenging each of you follow in Martin’s footsteps and pry yourselves away from the computer for 24 hours. See what happens, how often you go to it unaware you are even doing so. I think we could all benefit from some offline time.

Give it a shot – Let me know how long you last.

About ramsayramsay

I am a 24 year old public relations student at Centennial College and have a degree from Brock University in communications. I love to read, travel and spend time with friends and family. I enjoy writing am excited to share my thoughts on PR, social media and everyday life.

Posted on March 10, 2008, in computers. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Haha. I am not even trying.

  2. You wouldn’t. πŸ™‚

  3. hehe. I’m just waiting until we have bio-chips with built in wifi implanted in our brains. Direct access to the internet anywhere, any time! lol.

    I’m kidding. maybe…

  4. I couldn’t agree with you more Megan. I am admittedly one of those people that checks my e-mails all the time, but only when I’m in school, especially now with internship opportunities looming.

    But last year when I was working full-time I used to get harassed by friends who wondered where I went because I never replied to e-mails or Facebook messages because I would go days without checking them. But I used to call my friends to get together and to talk on the phone when I had time because I wanted to have a conversation not just a one line catch up.
    Also, when I was in Europe last summer I rarely checked my e-mails and didn’t have a cellphone. I have to tell you, I didn’t miss it at all. But everytime I did go to check my emails, I always had a nervous feeling in my stomach at how many emails I would be bombarded with. Sad isn’t it?

    I have no doubt that when I am working full-time again that I will very easily be able to complete your 24 hour challenge… but give me 3 more weeks before I have to try ok? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

