It’s a small, small world

Well to start, Mexico was a blast. We had almost perfect weather everyday, our resort was beautiful and we were able to take part in a lot of really great activities. We went to Coba for a day and were able to experience the Mayan ruins, we went to Xel-ha and went snorkeling and swam in cenotes, did a zip-line over the jungle and took part in a lot of fun stuff right at our resort.

Interestingly enough, on the bus from the airport to the resort, I saw a girl walk on who I thought I recognized. I said her name, and realized that we work together at East Sides. Totally random, but we were on the same flight and going to the same resort. It was great spending time with her and her boyfriend, but it just shows how small of a world it really is.

This leads into my topic of discussion for today which is networking. From day one of PR school it had been recommended to us students that we take part in as many networking events as we can, for the experience and the opportunities. In my head I thought this was great, as I am great at meeting new people, but by my first networking event I was actually pretty nervous. I am going to meet professionals! What if I make a bad impression or say the wrong thing? What if they think I am stupid and then they go and tell everyone that I’m a big loser and then I never get a job in PR? Things are the kind of things that I stress out about.

After my first event, Talk is Cheap, (where I spoke to no one), I decided try something a little more my pace and attend a Thirsty Thursday event. It’s held by and for young PR professionals, and it involves beer; sounds good to me.

To my surprise people were (and are) really nice. They did not drill my on my knowledge of PR, but instead offered ideas and insight. Sure we talked about PR, but we talked about a bunch of other things too. I made a lot of friends, gathered a few business cards and made some great connections.

The moral of the story is, go to networking events. They are put on for a reason. Don’t go to all of them (unless you want to) but making an appearance every now and then keeps you face out there. It’s also a great way to get people reading your blog and following you on Twitter, therefore making even more connections and increasing your online profile.

Tonight is Third Tuesday Toronto, another networking event that are also quite causal but focus on a key topic usually with a guest speaker. Tonight, I get to watch another live recording of Inside PR.  It’s like a triple whammy. I get to watch a production of a podcast, I get to network with a bunch of other PR professionals, and I get to hang out with some friends from school who I have not seen since we started internships, which coincidently, was just this week.

So like I said, it’s a small world, and you never know when or where your contacts may come in handy. Plus everyone likes making friends. 🙂

About ramsayramsay

I am a 24 year old public relations student at Centennial College and have a degree from Brock University in communications. I love to read, travel and spend time with friends and family. I enjoy writing am excited to share my thoughts on PR, social media and everyday life.

Posted on April 2, 2008, in social networking, travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You tell a very interesting story about your trip to Mexico, one we would never hear about in a family gathering.
    We got back Monday from 2 weeks in Daytona. We also had a good time but of course not nearly as active as yours.
    Love Grandma and Grandpa

  2. I’ll share a small world story. I recently made friends with a girl online who will be attending PodCamp NYC. She lives in Newfoundland, and it turns out that I was friends with her roommate when I lived in St. John’s a few years ago – I actually sold the dresser I had bought while living there to her roommate when I moved back to Ontario.

    Networking is tough, especially before you get to know anybody. I’m quickly finding though, that the more you do it, and the more people you meet, the easier it becomes to talk comfortably. It’s a bit of a snowball effect.

    As you said, in-person networking combined with blogging and twitter, makes a powerful equation for developing relationships with colleagues.

  3. I’ve signed on to Twitter, but I don’t get to use it much. I mean, is it acceptable at your work to have your Twitter feeds come through during your day? So, how can you effectively follow and be followed if you can’t use it during your work day?

    And when you work north of the city, how can you make it to a networking event that starts at 6 p.m.?

    Signed,
    Frustrated

Leave a Reply

