Blog shame

I’ve lately been struggling with the question “Why do I blog?”

If blogging was not trendy or a related part of my desired profession, would I still do it?

Let’s be honest. I am not really into my computer all that much. I would way rather watch a movie, go for a walk or hang out with friends then sit at home in front of my computer. I don’t really like meeting people over the internet, playing computer games or learning about new media tools.

Does that make me wannabe blogger?

The truth is, if I ended up in medical school as oppose to PR school, I probably wouldn’t really even know what blogging is. (Gasp!) Instead, I ended up at Centennial where I was introduced to the wonderful world of social media.

Some students were entirely opposed to the idea of blogging. I was excited and read, commented and even researched what I wanted to say. I would write twice a week and get butterflies as I hit ‘post’ worried that I had made some crucial error.

School is now over, and I’m lucky if I post once a week. I am seriously beginning to question my loyalty to my blog. In school I was learning new things every day, and could post about my discoveries and share ideas with students and professionals. Now, as an intern, I feel most of the things I am learning now I am not allowed to share. My day-to-day activities are new to me, but by no means worthy to discuss, not to mention confidential (well, not really, but you get the idea).

But anyways, my point is, blogging was my way in. My chance to get my name out there and build a reputation for myself as someone interested in social media and someone good at PR. Now that I’ve done that, is there really a need to continue?

This basically leads me back to the question, “Why do I blog?”

The simple answer, I want to be ahead of the PR game. I work at a big agency and I don’t have exact number but I beleive that there are 10 or less people who I work with that blog, and even less on Twitter. I’m not saying that these are things you need to be good at PR, but when the time comes to perhaps promote somebody, and I have the knowledge and experience with social media, it’s going to be me to excel.

So as shameful as it may seem, that is why I blog. I applaud people who do it for the satisfaction. I don’t dislike blogging, but to me its work.

A few questions to consider:

If no one read your blog would you still write it?

If you write about your profession, why?

What do you hope to achieve by blogging?

Why do you blog?

 

About ramsayramsay

I am a 24 year old public relations student at Centennial College and have a degree from Brock University in communications. I love to read, travel and spend time with friends and family. I enjoy writing am excited to share my thoughts on PR, social media and everyday life.

Posted on April 15, 2008, in blogs. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Rayanne Langdon

    Oh Meg! I’m so happy to hear that you can’t talk about many of the things you want to write about because of confidentiality. I know it’s probably not as big an issue as I think it is, but I feel I’m stifling my excitement about what I’ve been doing because I don’t know what I’m at liberty to talk about!

    Anyway, if no one read my blog, I’d probably still post. I wrote in this blog for a while before anyone read it or left comments. But, it’s easier to keep going when you think some people are waiting for what you have to say.

    I just started a music blog, actually. Check it out: I’m on the list. No one reads it yet, but I won’t promote it too much until I get it off the ground a little more. (Says the girl who just posted a link to her new blog.)

    Yes, I write about my profession. Why? Well, it’s one of the most important things in my life. I think and dream (literally!) about it all the time. So, my blog gives me a space to flesh out my ideas on what I’m been doing. It also connects me with other people who do what I do. Networking, baby. You know it!

    What do I hope to achieve? Hmm… I want to meet new people and learn new things. It’s probably as basic as that.

    I miss you! Let’s get together soon!

  2. Hi Meg,

    I love the transparancy and authenticity 🙂

    I blog because it’s a medium to express my random ideas. I pose questions, and ask for feedback on my thoughts. Part of me hopes that somebody with a job to fill will read my blog and say “This Rick guy seems smart, maybe I’ll hire him” but that’s a small part. Mostly, I’m interested in tapping the collective intelligence of the community to learn and share.

    You could write about the differences between what we learned in school and what you’re learning in practice. What’s the same, what’s different. I’m just tossing that out there as a suggestion – I’d love to hear what you have to say on the subject. Same goes for you Rayanne!

    Talk to you later.

  3. Hey Guys!!

    I can’t wait for the day at Centennial so we can all get together again. As much as I don’t miss class, I miss all my friends and all the shenanigans.

    Rayanne, I can wait to check out the music blog. I read your post on I hate Sarah Marshall, I tried to comment but it was 4:45 Friday afternoon and it was not happening. I am so glad you like your internship. I know we were all a little uneasy about starting, but it’s nice to fit in and feel like you are contributing.

    Rick, I would totally hire you! You’re the man.

Leave a Reply

