Me since school. What did I learn and how did it help.

Week four in PR career and I finally feel like I am settling in and getting used to things. My first week was spent reading and doing orientations. My office is huge and there are too many people to remember. I love my team and although I probably have a bias I think they are the best bunch in the group.

There is quite an adjustment between school and work that really takes getting used to. Firstly, the whole 9-5 thing. Most people my age have worked at least one 9-5er in their life, but not me. I find that some nights I am going to bed at 10, and sometimes earlier (like last Thursday, after a few drinks after work). I’m exhausted much of the time, and even on weekends it’s hard to sleep in. I have to dress up, which isn’t a big deal, but owning one pair of dress pants is. I really have to go shopping. But really, everything else is a learning process just like every other big step in my life.

To be honest, I was weary and unsure about how prepared I was for this job after leaving school. I think everyone is nervous coming into a new job, but this is something I am meant to have the skills to do, and what if I wasn’t good enough?

Well, thankfully I am. I find that even if I don’t understand something all I have to do is ask and someone will explain. I often get complimented for asking so many questions. A lot of the words and tools are the same as we were taught in school. Communications plan’s are WAY different (and not as complicated, thank God) and although I am doing basic level tasks, I am given more responsibility each day and am learning so much.

So how did school help? My social media experience definitely gives me an advantage. I love del.icio.us and use it for everything. I know how to ask questions and to make sure I am asking the right ones. I always take the assertive approach and will e-mail my colleagues and ask them for stuff to do when I have finished my work. My CP books sit on my desk at all times and I am very careful when writing anything (except my blog).

Most importantly, I mesh well with my team. Everyone likes me (I hope) and the fact that we all get along makes it much easier to approach people when I need help.

There are also lots of other exciting things that take place that are totally not school or PR related. Things that make me feel special and important. The exciting first big job perks:

I get business cards. Very professional
My outlook invites me to meetings and stuff, and then reminds me of them! (hotmail lifetime user here)
I am having a bio photo and write up done
I have my own cubicle with a name plate thing and all the office supplies I want
Beercart (need I say more?)
Coffee, pop, juice, snacks; it’s like a buffet in here (It’s called the H&K 10 for a reason)
My own phone and extension, oh and e-mail signature
Responsibility, people tell me to do things and I get them done
Confidentially, people trust me, great feeling
Training sessions
My desk can be as messy as I’d like and no one can say anything

So there is no message to be told or lesson to be learn in this post. Just an update of me and how exciting my job is.

P.S. I just heard my AD sing the words to Brittney Spears “I’m not a girl”. Ya, doesn’t get much better than this.

 

About ramsayramsay

I am a 24 year old public relations student at Centennial College and have a degree from Brock University in communications. I love to read, travel and spend time with friends and family. I enjoy writing am excited to share my thoughts on PR, social media and everyday life.

Posted on April 21, 2008, in careers. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

