Social media platforms on facebook

Let’s face it, social media is in and everyone wants a piece of it. Big companies are taking stabs at using social media as a way to connect with audiences, but few are being successful at doing so.

Facebook is one of the most popular web 2.0 tools, which only makes sense as to why so many organizations are using it to sell products, raise awareness, build brand recognition, etc, etc. Facebook has over 70 million active users, is the 6th most-trafficked website in the world and is the 2nd most-trafficked social media site in the world (comScore). 

What is the purpose of facebook? Is it to keep in touch with friends or is it an online marketing tool just like everything else is the world is becoming? Facebook was a seemingly harmless and fun way to connect with friends, until applications began to take over my profile page. Applications exsist as marketing tools used to attack users. Get this, there are over 20,000 applications which have been built on the Facebook Platform. There are 140 new applications added per day and more than 95 per cent of Facebook members have used at least one of these applications. Sounds like a pretty extensive audience outreach to me.

I am just a victim as I have signed up for many of these applications falling into the trap of curiousity. My facebook page has games, horoscopes, maps of where I’ve travelled, my blog, a zombie war, surveys and even a social profile which tells me how I am ranked among my friends. Go facebook.

Don’t even get me started on those gifts. Who would pay $1 for something so ridiculous!

Now although I have lost my train of thought and carried on about how facebook is really an outlet to sell me crap I don’t need, there are some companies who are using it successfully. I recently clicked on a sponsored link by Subway (the sanwiches) and was pleasantly surprised.

Subway has a sponsored ad on facebook and when you click on it a small video pops up and you can watch a 20 second or so ad from Subway. It is not the best ad but is similar to what they have showing on TV right now with the monkey not fitting into a healthy lifestyle.

If you then click on the actual link (not the sponsored video), it takes you to a memory game. Now who doesn’t love memory?

The game only has 20 or so cards which have pictures of vegetables on them that you match up and then get points. However, there are also two monkeys in the mix and if you match them you lose points. I don’t think the points get you anything (even though it would be better if you did), but you can register for promotions and coupons and stuff and then if you play enough, you name will get added on the high scores list. The page also contains links to Subway locations and other crap., but focuses on how eating subway is a part of a healthy lifestyle (like Cheerios is part of a complete breakfast).

I mean, its not overly innovative or original, but a neat concept to get the idea across. Check it out and let me know what you think. In the meantime, next time you log into facebook, take a look at all the subliminal ads and marketing gizmos that are targeting you. It’s sad and scary.

About ramsayramsay

I am a 24 year old public relations student at Centennial College and have a degree from Brock University in communications. I love to read, travel and spend time with friends and family. I enjoy writing am excited to share my thoughts on PR, social media and everyday life.

Posted on April 22, 2008, in social media. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

