Unhappy at work? Too bad…

How many people out there can honestly say that they love thier job? What about people who love the work they do but hate where they work?

Well, I am happy to say that I am not one of those people. I felt extremely privileged to intern with Hill & Knowlton knowing that it would be great experience and a fantastic name to have on my resume. My experiences up until this day have far exceeded my expectations.

So what makes H&K so special you might ask? Well, it’s a number of things. Here is my list of things which have enhanced my experience and made my internship so fulfilling. This list also offers some helpful hints as to how employers can make the little people happy.

1. Be supportive

One of my favourite things about working at H&K is that I am encouraged to ask questions. The more I ask the better because they want me to learn and they want to help. I can ask anyone from an assistant consultant to an account director and everyone will take the time to make sure I understand. I never feel stupid and this stops me from making silly mistakes. I ask a LOT of questions.
Helpful hint: Management or senior staff, make yourself available to junior staff members and if they are not asking you the questions, you should be asking them the questions.

2. Treat everyone as equals

In my fours months here I have never felt like an intern. Since day one I as treated as an equal member of the team and was given the same privileges and expectations as everyone else. This made me feel like I was a contributing member, not someone just there to watch and learn.
Helpful hint: Don’t centre out or ignore your intern. If you are going for a staff meeting or maybe out of after work drinks, invite everyone. Client meetings are great learning experiences too so it helps to being the junior people as well.

3. Give constructive criticism – every time

When I am asked to work on something new I’ll work really hard on it and make it perfect before sending it off to be reviewed by someone else. 90 per cent of the time that work is returned to me with the proper corrections and suggestions as to what I could do in the future to make it better. It is a great way to learn and improve my skills.
Helpful hint: Give feedback every time and give explanations as to why changes were made or where the mistakes were.

4. Make work fun

At H&K we work hard and play hard. I frequently laugh throughout my day and it just makes things more enjoyable. A happy worker is a productive worker.
Helpful hint: Offer incentive programs or take your staff to lunch once in a while. A small token of appreciation really goes a long way

5. Acknowledge good work

When I get acknowledgement that I have done something well it actually makes my day and makes me want to work harder. It boosts my self-esteem and inspires me to do better on all my assignments.
Helpful hint: Appreciate your staff and the work they do.

It’s hard being a junior member of a team because it is easy to feel neglected and unappreciated. People often forget that junior people are the ones who become senior people, and by investing your time in them can be truly beneficial.

That being said, my internship has offically come to an end I am thrilled to have landed a full time job here at Hill and & Knowlton. I turly thank my co-workers for their support and encouragment and am honoured to be a memeber of the team.

About ramsayramsay

I am a 24 year old public relations student at Centennial College and have a degree from Brock University in communications. I love to read, travel and spend time with friends and family. I enjoy writing am excited to share my thoughts on PR, social media and everyday life.

Posted on July 17, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Welcome to the team, Ramsay. You’re a great addition to the squad. And be warned that you are on my digital radar and will be sucked into the digital team before too long.

  2. You’ve noted important factors on that list, Megan, and I’d add a few more: allow for creativity, provide a challenge and provide opportunity. If, at the end of the internship, you can walk away with a stellar portfolio and the energy and ideas to pursue PR, you’ve got a great base for success.
    Glad to see that someone else got something “more” out of their internship.

  3. Very intuitive stuff here for sure. One thing that I have found very helpful when working with interns is to always, always give clear direction, before the start of an initiative. Clear direction, given a week into the project is never helpful.

    Good luck in your “interning”. I bet H & K is a great place to cut your teeth.

Leave a Reply

